Provided to you by the Pennsylvania State Library: Power Library is the online portal to all that Pennsylvania libraries offer. This is the place to find trustworthy answers to questions about healthcare, consumer purchases, personal finances, and much more. Enjoy free 24/7 access to newspapers, magazines, journals, historical documents and photos, online databases, and eBooks. Research a subject. Learn about your family history. Locate a title, Explore career options. It's all here at POWER Library.
On-line Subscription Databases
Subscriptions for the following informational tools, accessible via the internet, have been purchased by the Warren Library Association. These digital gateways, like Power Library, can be entered from library workstations without identification, or from workstations outside the library if a valid County library card ID number is supplied. Click on the image to gain access.
Auto Repair Reference Center
Contains do-it-yourself repair and maintenance information on most major manufacturers of domestic and imported vehicles.
Hobbies & Crafts Reference Center
Hobbies & Crafts Reference Center provides comprehensive full text content for many of the most popular hobbies, crafts and recreation activities today. Including full text for more than 500 magazines and books, as well as access to videos and hobby reports, this database offers detailed "how-to" instructions and creative ideas to meet the interests of virtually every hobby-enthusiast, men, women and children. Subject areas include arts & crafts; collecting; games & electronics; model building; home & leisure; needlework; outdoors & nature; and scrapbooking & papercraft. The database also features extensive information on over 140 topics. Hobbies & Crafts Reference Center provides full text including patterns and diagrams from the leading hobby and craft magazines.
Price It! Antiques & Collectibles
Price It! Antiques & Collectibles is a comprehensive, subscription-based database for identifying, researching and pricing art, antiques and collectibles. Containing more than 23 million records, it’s a sophisticated, up-to-date for collectors and professional art appraisers.
Testing and Education Reference Center
Current exclusive information on approximately 4,000 acccredited colleges and universities, available scholarships and financial aid; eBooks on test preparation; preparatory online entrance tests and study aids, and more.
Tuition Funding Sources
Tuition Funding Sources is a private non-commercial website designed to help students find scholarships and college and career information. TFS offers students the largest scholarship database in the world with over $41 Billion in scholarship awards along with a career personality test and detailed college and career information.
FINANCIAL / INVESTING
Financial Ratings Series Online
Financial Ratings Series Online combines the strength of Weiss Ratings and The Street Ratings to offer a single source for financial strength ratings and financial planning tools covering Banks, Insurers, Mutual Funds and Stocks. This database provides accurate, independent information you need to make informed decisions about financial planning.
Morningstar Investment Research Center
Morningstar Reports are now online in-house and remotely using your library card number as your password. Morningstar Investment Research Center is a one-stop tool for collecting financial information, getting reliable portfolio analysis, learning about investment options, and reading up on the most up-to-date financial news commentary. With comprehensive data and analysis on over 41,000 investments
See Also: Investing for the Long Run
A free guide with strategies and solutions to help you shape up your personal finances. http://library.morningstar.com/mkt/investing_for_the_long_run.pdf
Online access to the complete set of US Federal Census Records from 1790 to 1930, over 25,000 family and local histories, over 1.6 million genealogy and local history articles, and selected records from Revolutionary War Era Pension and Bounty-Land Warrant Application Files.
To gain access to the HeritageQuest, you must have a current library card and insure your browser is configured to accept cookies. If you are a valid card holder and are having trouble with remote access, click here for troubleshooting help.
Thomson Gale LegalForms provides users access to thousands of customizable online legal documents that are available 24/7. This service makes finding and using the correct legal form for many popular documents, such as wills, power of attorney forms, landlord, real estate or tenant forms, fast and easy.
National Survey of State Laws 7th Edition
The new 7th edition of National Survey of State Laws is an indispensable reference work covering the most asked about and debated legal topics in the United States including: abortion, gun control, marijuana, marriage, drunk driving, child custody, and many other areas. ATTENTION: This database is available ONLY within the Library. No remote access.
LITERATURE & READING:
Bloom's Literary Reference Online
This literary databases examines great writers, important works, memorable characters, and influential movements and events in world literature browsable by nationality, type of writing, or time periods ranging from ancient to modern. It includes overviews, synopses, analyses, and literary criticism on thousands of works from poetry to plays...browsable by genre and time period or alphabetically. It features definitions of literary terms, as well as in-depth articles on literary movements, literary groups, magazines and newspapers, and historical events that help place literature in context.
NoveList Plus is the premiere database of reading recommendations, available through libraries around the world. It is a comprehensive source of information about books that includes expert recommendations, reviews, articles, lists and more.
NoveList K-8 Plus is a database about books specifically for younger readers. It helps kids find books that are just right for their reading level and interests. Parents, teachers, and librarians can also find tools to teach with books and engage young readers.
Salem Literature Online
Salem provides access to a growing number of reference works in its renowned literary content both in traditional, printed form and online combined in a single purchase. Both uses are included in all Salem Literature reference.
Search for obituaries, marriage announcements, birth announcements, social pages, local sports action, advertisements, news articles, and more in our large newspaper archive. Access is limited to the Pennsylvania Collection.
NewspaperARCHIVE, an online database that provides searchable access to more than 300 hundred years of local historical newspapers dating back to the 17th century. Every part of every page is searchable, including valuable local articles, advertisements, editorials, classified ads, and obituaries. The full collection of NewspaperARCHIVE Library Edition contains more than 130 million digitized pages of content from over 6,000 newspapers throughout North America, the UK, and other select countries worldwide. Attention: This database is available ONLY within the Library. No remote access.
TELEPHONE & ADDRESS DIRECTORIES:
AtoZdatabases: Search Jobs, Businesses or Mailing Lists AtoZdatabases is the Premier Job Search, Reference & Mailing List Database including 30 million business & executive profiles & 220 million residents. Ideal for sales leads mailing lists, market research, employment opportunities, finding friends and relatives, and much more!
A comprehensive directory of U.S. individuals that can be searched in a number of useful ways. It is also a detailed listing of 10.5 million businesses with the ability to search by company name, type of business, geography, business size and more.